Panthers Name Post-Season Award Winners

This year, in addition to the MVP and Coaches? Award sponsored by the E-Club, Edgemont Wrestling introduced a new series of Post-Season Awards to be given out annually. These awards were recently presented at our Post-Season Wrestling Banquet.

Here?s a quick description of our new awards.

Academic Award ? Awarded annually to the wrestler who accumulates the most ?A?s? on exams and papers during the season.

Sean Ross Award ? Named after wrestling Class of 2006 alumni and current coach, Sean Ross. This award is given to the Ultimate Teammate ? always supportive and always doing whatever he can to help the team ? qualities that Sean always exemplified as an athlete.

Captains? Award ? Chosen by the current captains, this award is given to the most dedicated, hardest-working freshman or sophomore during the past season.

Eric Kantor Award ? Named after Edgemont?s first-ever wrestling coach and long-time program supporter, Eric Kantor. The award is given to the athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of good sportsmanship at all times throughout the season.

George DiChiara Award ? Named after Edgemont?s longest-tenured Head Coach, George DiChiara. This award is given to the athlete who best exemplifies the characteristics Coach DiChiara strived to teach on a daily basis ? Class, Character and Competition.

David Rice Award ? Named after wrestling Class of 2008 alumni, David Rice. Dave went from a barely .500 record his junior year to Section Champion, Sectionals Most Outstanding Wrestler and All-State his senior year. This award is given to the wrestler who has shown the most improvement since his last season.

Panther Award – Given to the wrestler who best demonstrates an ability to overcome adversity with mental toughness and resiliency.

And here are this year?s winners:

MVP?- Trey Aslanian

Coaches? Award?- Danny Kornberg

Academic Award?-?Will Graybeal and?Jack McCormack

Sean Ross Award – Will Graybeal

George DiChiara Award – Sky Korek

David Rice Award – Tyler Aslanian

Panther Award – Danny Kornberg